Response to the newly launched Hanyu Shuiping Kaoshi (HSK) Level 7-9 examination held in Singapore on 26 November 2022 was highly encouraging. The session was held at the HSK Center (Crestar) premises in RELC Building, Orange Grove Road.

This first HSK Chinese language proficiency Level 7-9 was added to the existing six-level HSK test structure after the China Ministry of Education issued the “Standard for Chinese Proficiency in International Chinese Language Education” in March 2021. It marked a new milestone in Crestar’s effort to promote international Chinese language proficiency assessment in Singapore.

The examination comprised two sections and was held entirely online. The morning section covered writing, listening, reading comprehension as well as translating. The oral section, which consisted of both answer short questions and oral translation, was held in the afternoon.

Examination venue of the HSK Level 7-9 Examination

Participants brought their own laptops, answered the questions and carried out their reading and oral sessions using a pre-installed app.

To ensure the smooth flow of the proceedings, Crestar conducted an online briefing and a mock virtual exam for the participants a week before the actual date. Another briefing was held on the day itself before the commencement of the exam.

The success of the inaugural HSK Level 7-9 examination provides an excellent opportunity for aspiring students to be benchmarked and recognised for their higher proficiency in the Chinese language.

Before the latest addition to the HSK test grading structure, international Chinese language skills were classified into six levels from HSK 1, for basic, to HSK 6, for high proficiency and fluency. No adjustment has been made to the examinations for Level 1-6.

With the launch of “Standard for Chinese Proficiency in International Chinese Language Education” two years ago, the Chinese Proficiency Standards are now graded under a “Three Stages and Nine Levels” test system.

Stage Level
Beginner Level 1
Level 2
Level 3
Intermediate Level 4
Level 5
Level 6
Advanced Level 7-9

New “Three Stages and Nine Levels” test system for HSK Examinations

The Crestar Education Group set up HSK Centre (Crestar) in May 2003 after it was appointed by China’s Hanban/Confucius Institute Headquarter exclusively to promote and administer the HSK tests in Singapore.